Awards & Recognition

2006 Achievement of Excellence at UHN

University Health Network built its reputation on a tradition of excellence in research, patient-centred care and staff development. The following is a list of just some of the awards staff and physicians from Toronto General Hospital (TGH), Toronto Western Hospital (TWH) and Princess Margaret Hospital (PMH) have received this year.

And the Award goes to:

Dr. Lea Harrington Wins HHMI International Research Scholar Award
Dr. Lea Harrington, a Senior Scientist at The Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research and Ontario Cancer Institute at Princess Margaret Hospital, was one out of 39 chosen—out of a pool of 546 applications—as a winner of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute International Research Scholar awards. Dr. Harrington will receive a five-year award totaling nearly $500,000 for her research.

Howard Hughs Medical Institute launched its international research scholar program in 1991 to recognize the international scope of modern biomedical research and to support outstanding scientists in their own countries.

Read Announcement

Canadian Society of Transplantation Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Carl Cardella, medical program director for Advanced Medicine and Surgery, has been awarded the 2006 Canadian Society of Transplantation Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Cardella joined Toronto Western Hospital more than 30 years ago as a nephrologist with an interest in renal transplantation and immunology research. Among his scientific contributions, Dr. Cardella led a laboratory that developed and produced an immunosuppressive serum. His current research focuses on “sensitized” patients, with a high number of antibodies that make them more likely to reject transplanted organs. Ultimately, his research aims to develop new treatments to reduce and control these antibodies.

National Cancer Institute of Canada
Frances Shepherd, leader of the lung cancer site group at Princess Margaret Hospital, has been awarded the 2006 O. Harold Warwick Prize for cancer research by the National Cancer Institute of Canada. The prize is given to a scientist whose research has had a major impact on cancer control in Canada.

Institute of Medical Science
Gary Levy, Director of the Multi-Organ Transplant Program at University Health Network and Atul Humar, Director of Transplant Infectious Diseases at Toronto General Hospital were joint recipients of the 2006 Graduate Course Director Award from the Institute of Medical Science for the development and presentation of MSC7000Y "Regenerative Medicine.” This award recognizes sustained contributions of more than three years to excellence in the teaching, administration and development of any IMS graduate course.

Society for Healthcare Consumer Advocacy
Congratulations to the staff of the UHN Patient Relations Department: Belinda Vilhena, Terry Gordon and Vasiliki Bakas – this year’s winners of the Society for Healthcare Consumer Advocacy award. The award acknowledges and celebrates individuals and organizations that demonstrate excellence in the area of patient relations.

American College of Healthcare Executives
Emily Musing has been appointed a Diplomate of the American College of Healthcare Executives. The Credentials Committee noted Emily's growth and competence in the field, as demonstrated by leadership in health and community affairs, participation in programs of continuing professional education, and by passing the Board of Governors' Examination in Healthcare Management.

Scientific Director, Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health, CIHR
Dr. Peter Liu, Director of the Heart & Stroke/Richard Lewar Centre of Excellence in Cardiovascular Research, and Heart & Stroke/Polo Chair Professor of Medicine and Physiology at the University of Toronto has been appointed Scientific Director of CIHR's Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health.
Press Release on the CIHR Web site

American Association of Neurological Surgeons
UHN researcher Dr. Michael G. Fehlings, was voted Chair-Elect of Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS)/Congress of Neurological Surgeons, effective April 1, 2006. AANS is a scientific and educational association with over 6,800 members worldwide. The AANS is dedicated to advancing the specialty of neurological surgery in order to provide the highest quality of neurosurgical care to the public.

UHN - a family-friendly employer
Organizations across Canada were assessed on their programs and benefits to assist employees with families, and 10 organizations, including UHN and our teaching affiliate University of Toronto, were named as leaders. Selection criteria included a range of factors such as maternity top-up, flexible work arrangements, parental leave, childcare and other benefits that help employees balance work and family commitments. Visit Today's Parent, to learn more.

A. Les McDonald Award for excellence in asthma care
Kay Khan, nurse and Certified Asthma Educator in the Asthma and Airway Centre is the recipient of the A. Les McDonald Award for Innovation and Excellence in Asthma Care and Education from the Canadian Network for Asthma Care. The award recognizes Khan's contribution, including her collaboration with the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario to develop Adult Asthma and COPD Best Practice Guidelines.

UHN's first clinician-scientist in nursing
As a clinician-scientist, Dr. Sonia Sarkissian establishes a link between research and patient care to advance quality of life for patients. Her time will be split between caring for epilepsy patients in the Krembil Neuroscience Program and teaching and research at the School of Nursing at University of Toronto School of Graduate Studies.

Image: Medical Imaging coverMedical Imaging top 10 - 01/27/2006
David Jaffray, Head of Radiation Physics at Princess Margaret Hospital (PMH), has been voted to the "Top 10 List" of Medical Imaging's Best of the Best in the industry in the category of Radiation Oncology/Cancer Researchers. Dr. Jaffray is the only non-MD on the top 10 list. This is another in a series of his accomplishments, including the Fidani Chair of Radiation Physics at PMH and Canada's Top 40 Under 40 in the recent past. View Dr. Jaffray's research profile.
Image: Pharmacy group
Pharmacy Mentorship Program mentors and mentees: (l-r) Gary Wong, Alice Tseng, Patty Kim, Emily Musing, Michael Wong, and Debbie Kwan; Joyce Chan (missing)
Douglas J. Stewart and Apotex awards for Pharmacy program - 01/10/2006
An educational sabbatical mentorship program developed in the Pharmacy department received provincial and national awards from the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists. Provincially, the program won the Douglas J. Stewart Award for excellence in hospital pharmacy administration. Nationally, the project won the Apotex Award, for management-related innovations in pharmaceutical care.

College of Family Physicians of Canada - 01/10/2006
Family physician and chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Toronto, Dr. Louise Nasmith has been appointed president of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) for 2006. The CFPC is a national voluntary organization of family physicians, which strives to help Canadians understand the important role of family physicians while championing quality healthcare for all people in Canada.

See the 2005 Awards & Recognition.

[back to top]

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2008
University Health Network 190 Elizabeth Street, Toronto ON M5G 2C4